Daily Gratitude #4

Today was one of those days.  I woke up feeling like I had a lot on my mind, though I couldn’t pin down a single thought.  On my drive to work I got to see a beautiful sunrise, but I just couldn’t shake the feeling I had when I woke, so I couldn’t enjoy it as much.  Then of course every driver on the road was playing with their phones or driving slowly in the left lane.  At work I had a productive and rather uneventful day.  When I got home, I noticed the garbage man didn’t pick up our garbage again, this was the third week in a row.  So after getting irritated and sending a nasty gram to the corporate headquarters they finally picked up the garbage.  I  was starting to wonder if I was ever going to find my three things for the day.  But after all that I finally relaxed enough to enjoy my surroundings.  So now that you’ve listened to my rant, here are my three gratitude for today.

1.  I am thankful for my friendly co-workers.  I think of all the people who work in “hostile” work environments and realize how lucky I am to have my co-workers.  Despite popular belief police officers are fantastic to be around all day.  I feel like I have 35 brothers.  My co-workers at times are like family to me.

2.  Today I noticed my shoulders were a little sore from my yoga practice yesterday, which made me stop and be grateful to be healthy enough to workout and being open-minded enough to benefit from the meditative qualities of a yoga practice.

3.  I had been fussing with my hair for the last couple weeks, I had missed my hair appointment nearly month ago due to an unexpected meeting at the courthouse.  Tonight I finally decided to go get it cut.  I am so happy with the results, not only does the hair cut make me feel a lot better about my appearance, it also feels good.  I have baby fine hair, so it’s difficult to find someone who can cut it and make it look fantastic and this gal did tonight and for a fraction of the money I normally spend!  So all around good a experience.

Just because the day doesn’t start out right and it feels like everything you do somehow makes it worse, don’t give up.  If you follow the flow instead of fighting against it trying to make the day better, your day will typically get better on its own, if you let it.

Leave a Reply

