Make time for things you love

This week, I noticed I was feeling a bit lost and run down.  I assumed it had a lot to do with lack of sleep, work, and school stress.  Today, I woke up in an abnormal mood for me.  It was a lackluster morning, I had absolutely no motivation or enthusiasm for the day.  It’s Friday after all and that is something to be celebrated.  Again, I assumed it had something do with not sleeping restfully last night.

After coffee and eating, talking to co-workers and my other normal routine that typically picks me up from any slump from lack of sleep, I was still feeling rather empty.  I was starting to wonder if I was displaying symptoms of depression.  It’s not as though that diagnosis would be a huge stretch of the imagination.  I’ve been working full-time, doing school work in my free time, huge changes are coming just around the corner, and worst of all the weather has been dismal.

I have discovered I am the happiest when the sun is shining and I can get outside and enjoy life.  I love the warmth of the sun on my skin, breeze blowing through the air carrying birdsong and flowers blooming.  Luckily, spring is nearly here and a vacation is coming up in a few short weeks, so the thought of outdoor adventures is weighing on my mind.

As for the changes, well I’m not 100% sure what the future holds for us, which is no surprise as no one really knows what is going to happen.  But in January 2017, my husband is being placed for 5 months for his residency project in the suburbs of Detroit.  We have not decided if I am moving with him or staying put, since we do not plan to stay in Detroit after the conclusion of the project.

I digress.

Today during my lunch break, I sat down and wrote a quick blog post on my writing site.  It was amazing, just that little time spent writing, doing something I love put me in a fantastic mood.  Am I still sleep deprived, well yes, but I don’t feel the world is lackluster, I have energy and am looking forward to the weekend.  I have been taking too much time out of my day to do what HAD to be done, and not taking any time to do what I WANT to do.  So, reminder to me, make time to do the things you enjoy it makes the world of difference in my mood.

 

One thought on “Make time for things you love

Leave a Reply

